We all come across that one moment when we need to delete a message for everyone on WhatsApp. But sometimes, we delete a message by mistake or, worse, delete it just for ourselves instead of others. Do not worry anymore; WhatsApp has your back with a new ‘undo’ button for deleted messages.
Earlier this year in July, WABetaInfo reported that WhatsApp is testing a new ‘undo’ button to recover a message if deleted accidentally. Now, reportedly the feature is rolling out to a handful of users with WhatsApp for Android beta version 188.8.131.52. However, the button only appears when users have deleted a message for themselves.
How does WhatsApp’s undo feature work
When a user deletes a message for themselve using the ‘delete for me’ button, a floating snackbar notification appears at the bottom showing an ‘undo’ button. The notification also confirms that the message has been deleted. Do note that the ‘undo’ button will only appear for a few seconds, but WhatsApp may decide to increase the duration later.
We can expect the ‘undo’ button to soon appear in the stable version of the app since the feature has already made it to the beta version. However, there is no word on when the ‘undo’ button will be available for everyone.
Meta-owned WhatsApp is also working on an option to edit a sent message. Even the ability to save disappearing messages is said to be under development.